Deirdre Coghlan Bursary – applications for the 2021 bursary have now closed. 


In 2016, one of Q Shelter’s founders and lifelong members, Deirdre Coghlan, passed away. In honour of her memory, Q Shelter established a bursary to help those in the housing and homelessness sector access professional development they might otherwise miss out on.

Each year Q Shelter provides up to $5,000 in bursary payments to applicants. Usually, this amount has been split amongst several applications.

Q Shelter has distributed $20,000 in bursary payments since 2017.

Deirdre firmly believed that housing was a human right and was passionate about helping those in the sector gain skills in:

→ Community development

→  Advocacy

→ Grassroots and lived experience engagement

→ Challenging structural and systemic issues

If you work or volunteer in the sector and need special funding to grow your skills in one of these areas, consider applying to the 2021 Deirdre  Coghlan Bursary. Applications close 1 October 2021The winners of the 2021 bursary will announced at Q Shelter’s Annual General Meeting.



Previous recipients of the Deirdre Coughlan Bursary


2020 Lesley Leece, on behalf of 3rd Space volunteers
Lynette Piotrkowski, Jacaranda Housing
Poppy Annear, Whitsunday Counselling and Support
2019 Yee Long Chang, SPK Housing Group
Angie King, Anglicare Central Queensland
Frances Turner, Youturn Youth Support
Joanne Moynihan, Whitsunday Housing Company
2018 Yvonne Harris, Connect Housing Group
  Alan Mitchell, BABI Youth and Family Service
  Rory Vella, Access Community Housing Company
2017 Charmaine Scott, Access Community Housing
  Barb McMillan, Dirranbandi Progress Association
  Support Team, Hinchinbrook Community Support


“Thanks to being awarded with the Deidre Coghlan Bursary, I was able to attend the National Housing Conference 2019 in Darwin. Working for a small NFP organisation, this would not have otherwise been possible. The conference allowed me to network and learn from a range of people from a broad spectrum of the housing system–both nationally and internationally. The experience was invaluable.” Allan Mitchell, 2018 recipient